Covers to please all

By Christine Ernest
October 28, 2005

“This Bird Has Flown: A 40th Anniversary Tribute to the Beatles’ Rubber Soul”

The Beatles’ “Rubber Soul” was orginally released in 1965, and was known for featuring the classics “Michelle,” “Nowhere Man,” “Drive My Car” and “In My Life.” Present day, the fortieth anniversary tribute entitled “This Bird Has Flown” mirrors the original UK version of the “Rubber Soul” album. Contributors to the album include artists such as the Donnas, Ben Lee, Ted Leo, Cowboy Junkies, Rhett Miller and the Fiery Furnaces.


1. The Donnas – “Drive My Car”

2. The Fiery Furnaces – “Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown”

3. Dar Williams – “You Won’t See Me”

4. Low – “Nowhere Man”

5. Yonder Mountain String Band – “Think For Yourself”

6. Mindy Smith – “The Word”

7. Ben Harper & The Innocent Criminals – “Michelle”

8. Sufjan Stevens – “What Goes On”

9. Rhett Miller – “Girl”

10. Ted Leo – “I’m Looking Through You”

11. Ben Lee – “In My Life”

12. Ben Kweller featuring Albert Hammond Jr. – “Wait”

13. Nellie McKay – “If I Needed Someone”

14. Cowboy Junkies – “Run For Your Life”

“Listen to Bob Dylan: A Tribute”

Bob Dylan defines what it is to be a legend. His music has influenced numerous generations of musicians as well as securing a fan base that transcends generational gaps. Now a double disc, entitled “Listen to Bob Dylan: A Tribute Album,” has the intentions of gaining even more fans for Dylan. Featuring new interpretations of Dylan’s classics, the disc was brought together mainly by Drive-Thru records owner Stefanie Reines. The tribute album features modern day musicians such as Something Corporate, RX Bandits, Jason Mraz and the Format. You can find out more about the tribute album at

Tracklisting Disc 1:

01. Steel Train -“Don’t Think Twice (It’s Alright)”

02. Anberlin – “Like a Rolling Stone”

03. Roark -“Mr. Tambourine Man”

04. Socratic-“Tonight I’ll Be Staying Here With You”

05. House of Fools -“Blowin’ In The Wind”

06. As Tall As Lions -“Girl Of The North Country”

07. Jenoah -“Man In Me”

08. Cerys Matthews -“I Believe In You”

09. The Format -“Simple Twist of Fate”

10. Jason Mraz -“A Hard Rain’s A-Gonna Fall”

Sun Kil Moon – “Tiny Cities”

Mark Kozelek, aka Sun Kil Moon, has created yet another masterpiece showcasing his instrumental arranging wizardry. Entitled “Tiny Cities,” the new album is actually a collection of eleven Modest Mouse covers. All songs are new interpretations by Kozelek and feature brand new instrumentations.


01. “Exit Does Not Exist”

02. “Tiny Cities Made of Ashes”

03. “Neverending Math Equation”

04. “Space Travel Is Boring”

05. “Dramamine”

06. “Jesus Christ Was An Only Child”

07. “Four Fingered Fisherman”

08. “Grey Ice Water”

09. “Convenient Parking”

10. “Trucker’s Atlas”

11. “Ocean Breathes Salty”

Posted to the Web by Brandon Edwards

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Christine Ernest

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Special Project

Title IX Redefined Website

Produced by Cabrini Communication
Class of 2024

Listen Up

Season 2, Episode 3: Celebrating Cabrini and Digging into its Past


Scroll to Top
  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • LinkedIn
  • Email
  • Print
  • Copy Link
  • More Networks
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap