Delta Epsilon Sigma keeps success in mind

By Jason Radka
November 18, 2005

The Delta Epsilon Sigma induction ceremony was held in the mansion dining room on Tuesday, Nov. 8. Delta Epsilon Sigma is a national scholastic honors society for students, faculty and alumni of colleges and universities with a Catholic tradition. Over 100 colleges and universities, including Cabrini, have received charters to establish the chapter.

This ceremony was one of the many festivities and lectures that were held on Cabrini Day. Theses events were held in various locations on campus, such as Dixon Center and Grace Hall. However, the mansion may have breathed in the most prestigious air of the entire day.

The induction ceremony was organized by Dr. Maria Elena Hallion and Dr. John Brown. In attendance were 14 students, three professors and two administrators that were to be inducted into the Catholic honors program. In addition, senior members inducted a year prior to this years ceremony were in attendance as well as friends and family.

In order to be considered by the chapter, students must submit an application, maintain between a 3.5 and 4.0 grade point average and stand in the top 20 percent of their class. Clearly, the Delta Sigma Epsilon is as prestigious as the members that are inducted.

The ceremony opened with a speech from Dr. Charles McCormick, dean of academic affairs, introducing the chapter as “the chapter” of honors at Cabrini College. Thereafter, five students were recognized by earning the Mastronardi award, which was given to students that acknowledge the importance of community service while maintaining high scholastic marks.

Following the Mastronardi presentation, Dr. Mary Laver of the Wolfington center, spoke from her experience of putting a child through college and previewed the main itinerary of the night, the induction into the honors society.

Senior Jessica Bienick, the Delta Epsilon Sigma president at Cabrini, spoke about the importance of the chapter. Thereafter, Bienick pointed the spotlight at the inductees. The 14 students who were recognized: Deidre Beadle, Rebecca Clark, Jessica Damato, Kelly Grant, Meghan Hurley, Lindsey Kleiner, Lynsey McStravick, Jillian Milam, Lana Morelli, Erin Nicole Schell, Collen Marie Small, Allison Superneau, Lynn Talley and Laura VanDePette. Teachers inducted were Dr. Raymond Robb, Ann Servey and William Kuhns. Finally, two administrators were recognized in David Chiles and Dr. Charles McCormick.

Following the induction ceremony, closing remarks by Margaret Fox-Tully, VP for Mission Integration, put a closing touch on the evening by congratulating and expressing the little doubt she had in the inductee students for future success.

All in all, the Delta Epsilon Sigma induction ceremony will be cherished and remembered forever by all inductees, family and friends.

Loquitur welcomes your comments on this story. Please send your comments to: . The editors will review your points each week and make corrections if warranted.

Posted to the web by Shane Evans

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Jason Radka

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Special Project

Title IX Redefined Website

Produced by Cabrini Communication
Class of 2024

Listen Up

Season 2, Episode 3: Celebrating Cabrini and Digging into its Past


Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap