Cabrini athletics honors 43 seniors at farewell banquet

By Kasey Minnick
April 26, 2007

Joe Johnson

The 43 senior athletes of Cabrini College were honored on Friday, April 13 at the Grace Hall Atrium during the annual Senior Athletic Banquet.

With more than 140 people in attendance, they were there to recognize those athletes who contributed four years of service and dedication to their respective sport.

All of the seniors were presented with plaques commemorating their commitment as Cavaliers.

Those honored included Jackie Creighton, Megan Milliken and Caitlin Scott for women’s tennis and John Casparro, Mike Dignen and Matt Ingram for men’s tennis.

Also recognized were Christina D’Amelio, Megan Farrell, Emilie Greto, Joslyn Hayes, April Kaufmann, Allison Sachs, Tami Scanlan and Kelli Wilson for women’s lacrosse and Chris Barron, Denis Beovich, Bill Cordts, Ryan Dunn, Kevin Quinn, Erik Serio, Rob Tinsley and Clint Weaver for men’s lacrosse.

Honored for their contributions to women’s soccer were Greto and Melissa Williams and Brent Benner for men’s soccer.

Kristen Longa, Charlie Grugan and John Kolesnik received recognition for women’s and men’s swimming respectively.

Other athletes who received awards were golf team members Matt Paris and Brian Prospero; volleyball players Kim Feeny and Amanda Murphy; field hockey players Danielle Chominski, Megan Farrell, Becca Gallagher, April Kaufmann, Allison Sachs and Tami Scanlan; softball players Jen Euganeo and Megan O’Brien and Michael Mani for basketball.

Other recognitions given included the annual Grant-Goodwin Scholar-Athlete Awards presented to Benner Feeny. This award is given to a talented male and female senior athlete who achieved excellence in both academics and athletics.

The award was granted by former Cabrini College athletic directors and former men’s basketball coach Dr. Jolyon Girard, professor of history and political science and former women’s basketball coach Helen Goodwin.

Also, this year’s top Senior Athlete Awards went to Quinn and Greto. They were presented with plaques by their coaches.

Lastly, Cabrini College Director of Athletics and Recreation Dr. Leslie Danehy presented Dr. Christine Lysionek, the vice president for student development, with the Denise Edwards Award. This award is given each year to a person who demonstrates the spirit of Cabrini College athletics.

Loquitur welcomes your comments and questions on this story. Please send your comments to The editors will review your comments each week and make corrections if warranted.

Kasey Minnick

Scroll to Top
Share via
Copy link
Powered by Social Snap